Who has time for all this?

I had this great idea that I would start blogging and write at least every couple of days… But then my boys both started baseball, my grandma has been sick, some good friends moved away so we spent some often-missed time with them, my brother got sick and was in the hospital, and on and on… Not to mention I still have that pesky full-time job. And in the curse of perfectionism I though I’d gotten over, these things just became an excuse. Know thyself, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Life is busy, but in order to move on, I’ve got to get on it. It’s all about prioritizing.

I’ve found that saying, “I don’t have time for it” really means, “it’s not important enough for me to make time for it.” In all the craziness of the past two years, I’ve still managed to keep up with making my own shampoo, laundry detergent (except for once when we ran out and I had to go buy some… sigh), vanilla extract, hand soap, yogurt (ok so we just got burned out on this and recently started again), just to name a few. There areย many other “hippie tree-hugger” things I get funny looks for. I just tell people they’d be surprised how easy these things are… don’t worry I’ll be posting recipes & instructions eventually. I may even figure out how to link back to them. ๐Ÿ˜‰

How do you prioritize? Any easy ways to make the short 24 hours a day we’re given stretch a little further… I could sure use some help!

2 thoughts on “Who has time for all this?

  1. Quote: “A Great Accomplishment takes a lot of Perseverance”. Suggestion to help you prioritize your time. Make a plan; 1st) step sit down with a daily & weekly calendar, mark out the general events of your day by hour or 1/2 hour, ie. getting up & ready for work, commute, block out times your at work, lunch is a free spot, commute home, running errands, getting kids from day care/to events, dinner time, study time with kids?, kids to bed, any other things in your normal day (NO TV TIME ALLOWED). Now highlight any time that is free. Look at area’s that could be moved around by having your partner/kids help free time. 2) After you have worked your calendar around, GET YOUR FAMILY ON BOARD with what you are trying to accomplish, ie. “I need quit time from 7pm -7:45pm to work my blog” or whatever it is. 3rd) Stay consistent with that time no matter what (this is your DREAM, make it a Priority and work it). Let your family/friends know that you will be with them as soon as you get it finished. It’s for the benefit of your family that you keep your Dream going. It keeps you creative, and happy, and shows your kids that they can accomplish their dreams too if they stay disciplined in it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

